Shri Narendra Modi
Shri Narendra Modi
Prime Minister of India
About Us
Department setup and function
Vision and Mission

The long-term vision of the Department is to make India a major player in the world trade by 2020 and assume a role of leadership in the international trade organizations commensurate with India’s growing importance. The medium term vision is to double India’s exports of goods and services by 2017-18 over the level of 2008-09 with a long-term objective of doubling India’s share in Global trade.

The policy tools being adopted in this context are: the Strategy Paper focusing on the targeted commodity and country wise strategy in the medium term and the Strategic Plan / vision and the Foreign Trade Policy in the long run.

Functions of the Division

The Department formulates, implements and monitors the Foreign Trade Policy (FTP) which provides the basic framework of policy and strategy to be followed for promoting exports and trade. The Trade Policy is periodically reviewed to incorporate changes necessary to take care of emerging economic scenarios both in the domestic and international economy. Besides, the Department is also entrusted with responsibilities relating to multilateral and bilateral commercial relations, Special Economic Zones, state trading, export promotion and trade facilitation, and development and regulation of certain export oriented industries and commodities

The Department of Commerce is headed by a Secretary who is assisted by one Officer on Special Duty(OSD), one Special Secretary, one Special Secretary & Financial Advisor, three Additional Secretaries, two Additional Secretary rank officers, thirteen Joint Secretaries and Joint Secretary level Officers and a number of other senior officers.

The Department is functionally organized into the following 10 Divisions :

  • International Trade Policy Divisions
  • Foreign Trade Territorial Division
  • Export Products Division
  • Export Industries Division
  • Export Services Division
  • Economic Division
  • Administration & General Service Division
  • Finance Division
  • Supply Division
  • Logistics Division

The various offices / organizations under the administrative control of the Department are: (A) two Attached Offices, (B) ten Subordinate Offices, (C) ten Autonomous Bodies, (D) five Public Sector Undertakings, (E) one Advisory Body, (F) fourteen Export Promotion Councils and (G) five Other Organizations.